ATBU Secreatry & Hon. Treasurer are awarded with religious titles by the government of Myanmar

Sugandha 1.jpg
Lina Aykas

Myanmar, 4 Jan 2009. On the auspicious occasion of Myanmar Independent Day on 4th of Jan, the State Peace and Development Council of the Union of Myanmar has announced the notification No. 1/2009 conferring religious titles on the Most Venerable Sayadaws, Ganthadhura Pariyatti Lecturer Sayadaws, Vipassanadhura Patipatti Kammathana Instructor Sayadaws, Roving Dhamma Preachers, national and foreign missionary figures and outstanding donors of the Four Essentials to the Buddha Sasana. In the awarded list there are 3 ATBU personalities:

1. Dr. Ven. Satyapala Thero, Pali and Buddhism Studies Department, New Delhi University, New Delhi, India ATBU founding member is conferred with the title of Agga Maha Pandita

2. Venerable Phra Anil Sakya (Ph.D.) (Bhikkhu Sugandha). 248 Wat Bovoranives Vihara, Bangkok, 10200, Thailand ATBU Honorary Treasurer is conferred with the title of Maha Saddhamma Jotikadhaja

3. Dr. Dhammsami, Oxford Buddha Vihara Monastery, Oxford, England ATBU General Secretary is conferred with the title of Maha Saddhamma Jotikadhaja

The official title offering ceremony will take place in Naypyidaw, New Capital on 9 March 2009.

It is indeed an honour for ATBU that 3 ATBU personalities are recognized with such honourable titles.

Congratulations to all recipients Venerables.

Ven. Dr. Dhammasami